North Carolina Sales Tax Holiday Begins Aug. 3
August 1, 2007
RALEIGH – North Carolina families will save some money this weekend by shopping for clothes and back-to-school supplies during the state’s sixth annual sales tax holiday. Shoppers get a break from paying taxes on a wide range of items including computers, athletic equipment, notebooks, pens and pencils during the holiday, which begins at 12:01 a.m. Friday, Aug. 3 and ends at 11:59 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 5.
"The sales tax holiday helps families stretch their budgets as they get students ready for the coming school year," said Reginald Hinton, Acting Secretary of the Department of Revenue.
Consumers will not pay state or local sales tax on clothes, footwear and school supplies costing $100 or less per item; sports and recreation equipment costing $50 or less per item; computers (including the central processing unit, monitor, keyboard, mouse and speakers) costing $3,500 or less per item; and printers and computer supplies costing $250 or less per item.
Some items that qualify as school supplies are book bags, lunch boxes, reference books, paper, crayons and markers. Sports and recreation equipment includes athletic shoes, goggles, shin guards, shoulder pads, helmets and other items that are worn. Computer supplies include printers, electronic schedulers and personal digital assistants, computer diskettes, printer paper and ink cartridges.
For a more complete list of items that are included as part of the sales tax holiday, visit the N.C. Department of Revenue’s website at http://www.dornc.com/taxes/sales/salestax_holiday.html
The sales tax holiday was enacted by the General Assembly and signed into law by Gov. Mike Easley in 2001.
Public Affairs Office
P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh, NC 27640-0001
An Equal Opportunity Employer
Last modified on:
01/04/08 02:06:39 PM